Skip to content
Accessories & Tools

Ember Mug 2 vs Nextmug: Which Self-Heating Mug Should You Buy in 2026?

9 min readBy Home Brew Expert Editorial
Last updated:Published:

The Ember Mug 2 offers app-based precise temperature control; the Nextmug skips the app for one button and three presets. Here's how the two self-heating mugs actually compare.

Ember Mug 2 vs Nextmug: which self-heating mug should I buy in 2026?

Buy the Ember Mug 2 if you want app-based control over an exact drinking temperature and don't mind setting it back on its charging coaster roughly every hour to ninety minutes. Buy the Nextmug if you'd rather press one button, pick Warm, Hot, or Piping, and glance at an on-mug display instead of opening an app — Nextmug's own site says it plainly: "No app required." Both are self-heating, coaster-charged mugs built for the same job — keeping coffee or tea at drinking temperature on a desk or counter — and the right one comes down to whether you want precision-by-app or simplicity-by-button.

Updated October 2026.

We did not test this product ourselves; this review is built from the manufacturer's published specifications and Amazon's product listing.

What each mug actually does

Both mugs solve the same annoying problem: coffee that's perfect for the first three sips and lukewarm by the fourth. Both are charged and recharged on a coaster, per each brand's own site.

Ember Mug 2. Per the Amazon listing for this 10 oz version, it's described as an "App-Controlled Heated Coffee Mug" with "80 Min Battery Life." Ember's own product page adds more detail: the mug "allows you to set an exact drinking temperature, so your coffee is never too hot, or too cold," and the company's site states the mug "maintains your chosen temperature for up to 1.5 hours with the Ember Mug 2, 10 oz." That's a higher number than the 80 minutes on the Amazon listing for this specific listing. Both figures are the seller's own published numbers, stated here side by side rather than averaged into one; our own guess is that how long any single charge lasts you will depend on how long you keep the mug away from its coaster at a stretch, though neither source spells out that mechanism. Ember's site also states the Mug 2 "is safe to hand wash and submersible up to 1 meter in water," which is not the same as a dishwasher-safe claim — Ember's page doesn't make one.

Ember also sells a separate "extra" charging coaster, described on its own site as letting you keep "one coaster in the kitchen and another in the office." That's a product built for a second location, which implies the mug itself already ships with its first coaster, though neither of Ember's pages states this in so many words.

The Amazon listing describes the mug as app-controlled but doesn't name which phone platforms the companion app supports, and Ember's own page doesn't name them either. If controlling the mug from your phone is the main reason you'd buy it, confirm the app works with your device before you order.

Nextmug. Amazon's listing for this offer is named simply "Nextmug," with no size suffix; per Nextmug's own site, its base, no-suffix model is the 14 oz version (distinct from the Go, Plus, and Ultra sizes it also sells) — so that's the version this comparison covers, though the Amazon listing itself doesn't state a capacity in ounces. That model skips the app entirely. Nextmug's own site describes it as needing "no app, no setup, no fuss," and says it's "designed for people who sip slowly, get distracted, or simply want consistency without thinking about it." Temperature is set with a physical control: Nextmug's site states you "select Warm (130°), Hot (140°), or Piping (150°)" using an "on-board Control Button" that "easily turns the mug On/Off & sets temperature." Nextmug's page doesn't spell out which degree scale that is. Nextmug's site states that "LED lights display battery life & real-time temperature," so you can check status without a phone at all. Nextmug's site also states the mug "includes Spill-Resistant Lid & Charging Coaster." Nextmug's own copy calls the 14 oz size "the most versatile mug in the lineup" and "the safest choice when you're not sure which size to buy," positioning it for "everyday coffee and tea drinkers, home offices, gifting."

Nextmug's own site doesn't publish an exact number of minutes or hours of runtime per charge for this model — only "long-lasting battery" and the three preset temperatures. If a specific runtime number matters to your buying decision, that's worth confirming on the current listing rather than assuming either mug's figures carry over to the other.

Ember Mug 2 vs Nextmug at a glance

Ember Mug 2 (10 oz)Nextmug
Capacity10 oz, per the Amazon listingNot stated on the listing (Nextmug's base model is 14 oz)
Temperature controlApp-set to an exact temperature (per the listing and Ember's site)Three fixed presets: Warm 130°, Hot 140°, Piping 150° (per Nextmug's site; unit not specified there)
On-mug controlsNone stated beyond the appOne on-board button for power and temperature
Status displayNot stated on Ember's pageBuilt-in LED for battery and real-time temperature
ChargingCharging coaster (per Ember's accessory listing)Charging coaster, included per Nextmug's site
LidNot stated on Ember's pageSpill-resistant lid included, per Nextmug's site
CareHand wash; submersible up to 1 meter (per Ember's site)Not stated on Nextmug's site
Other sizes from the same brand14 oz is also sold, per Ember's siteGo (16 oz), Plus (18 oz), and Ultra (24 oz) are also sold, per Nextmug's site

Ember Mug 2: who it fits

The app is the whole point of the Ember Mug 2. If you like the idea of picking an exact number rather than a preset, and you don't mind that the mug needs its companion app installed and connected to get the most out of it, this is the more "smart home gadget" of the two. Per Ember's own site, the Mug 2 is sold across dozens of color options and named limited editions, which suggests the brand is leaning into it as a gift item and desk accessory as much as a functional one — that's our own inference from the size of its catalog, not a claim Ember's page makes directly.

Where it's a weaker fit: if you dislike apps, or you want to glance at the mug and immediately know its status without unlocking a phone, Ember's page doesn't mention an on-mug display the way Nextmug's does.

Check the current listing for the Ember Mug 2 before you decide — colorways and bundle contents shift over time, and the exact battery figure you see may differ from either number cited above.

Nextmug: who it fits

Nextmug's pitch is "no app, no setup" — press a button, pick one of three temperatures, and glance at the LED instead of your phone. That's a genuine simplicity advantage for anyone who wants a mug to just work the same way a kettle or a toaster does, without a setup step tied to a phone. The fixed 130/140/150° presets won't suit someone who wants to dial in a different number specifically, but three presets instead of a continuous range is the tradeoff that comes with Nextmug's simpler, button-only design.

Nextmug's own positioning for its 14 oz model — "the safest choice when you're not sure which size to buy" — is a reasonable one if you're buying your first self-heating mug and don't yet know whether you want more capacity. If you already know you want a bigger mug, Nextmug's own site lists the Go, Plus, and Ultra sizes as separate products, so the brand doesn't box you into 14 oz only.

See the current Nextmug listing for size and color options — this comparison covers the no-suffix "Nextmug" model specifically, and the larger Go/Plus/Ultra sizes in the same lineup are sold as separate listings.

Which should you actually buy

If you've never owned a self-heating mug and want the lowest-friction option, Nextmug's button-and-LED approach is the easier one to live with day to day — there's no app to install, pair, or keep updated, and the display is always visible on the mug itself. If you specifically want app-based control, the ability to set an exact temperature rather than choosing among three presets, and you don't mind an extra step of pairing a phone app, the Ember Mug 2 is built around that use case instead. Neither brand's own site states a clear winner on runtime per charge: Ember publishes two different figures for its own mug (80 minutes on the Amazon listing, 1.5 hours on Ember's site) from different sources, and Nextmug's own site doesn't publish a comparable number for its mug at all — so there's no clean apples-to-apples figure to compare here.

If your main use case is a shared office or a kitchen where more than one person might use the mug, the physical button on the Nextmug is simpler to hand off to someone else than an app. If the mug is yours alone and sits on your own desk, that difference matters less.

For a broader desk coffee setup beyond the mug itself, The Best Coffee Accessories Every Home Barista Should Own covers more of what's worth adding. If keeping water at a precise temperature for pour-over matters to you as much as keeping your mug warm, Best Electric Kettles for Pour-Over Coffee 2026 is the closer comparison for that specific need.

Where to buy

Check the current listings for the Ember Mug 2 and the Nextmug mug — colors, bundle contents, and the exact figures each brand publishes can change, so the listing is the most current word on what you'd actually receive.

FAQ

Does the Ember Mug 2 need an app to work?

Per the Amazon listing, it's described as app-controlled, which is how you set its exact temperature. Neither the listing nor Ember's own page names the specific phone platforms supported, so confirm compatibility with your device before buying.

Does the Nextmug have an app?

No — Nextmug's own site describes it as needing "no app, no setup, no fuss." Temperature is set with the on-board control button, and status shows on the mug's built-in LED.

What temperatures can the Nextmug be set to?

Nextmug's site lists three presets: Warm (130°), Hot (140°), and Piping (150°), selected with the on-board button. Nextmug's page doesn't state which degree scale that is.

Do both mugs come with a charging coaster?

Nextmug's site states the coaster is included with the mug. For the Ember Mug 2, the base mug isn't sold alongside an explicit "includes a coaster" line on Ember's own page, but Ember separately sells an "extra" coaster explicitly framed as a second one for a second location — which implies the first coaster ships with the mug itself.

Is either mug dishwasher safe?

Ember's site states the Mug 2 is safe to hand wash and submersible up to 1 meter in water, but doesn't claim it's dishwasher-safe. Nextmug's site didn't state a care instruction, so check the current listing or manual before washing it any way other than by hand.

Sources

  • Amazon's product listing for the Ember Temperature Control Smart Mug 2, 10 Oz (White).
  • Amazon's product listing for the Nextmug — used to confirm this offer's name has no size suffix, which this review uses to identify it as Nextmug's base model.
  • Ember's product page for the Ember Mug 2 (ember.com/products/ember-mug-2), checked October 2026.
  • Ember's product listing for "Extra Charging Coaster 2: Ember Mug 2" (ember.com), checked October 2026.
  • Nextmug's site, including the product page for the 14 oz Nextmug (nextmug.com/products/nextmug), checked October 2026.

Free Download

The First Brew Blueprint: 5-Gallon Amber Ale, Start to Sip

4 weeks from grain to glass

Instant download. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

Affiliate Disclosure

This article may contain affiliate links. If you make a purchase through these links, we may earn a commission at no additional cost to you.
#self-heating-mug
#ember-mug-2
#nextmug
#coffee-accessories
#desk-coffee

Related Comparisons

Featured Products

Home Brew Expert may earn commission from links on this page. We never accept payment in exchange for positive reviews.

Ember Temperature Control Smart Mug 2

Ember Temperature Control Smart Mug 2

Ember Temperature Control Smart Mug 2, 10 Oz, App-Controlled Heated Coffee Mug with 80 Min Battery Life and Improved Design, White

View Deal
Nextmug

Nextmug

Nextmug - Temperature-Controlled, Self-Heating Coffee Mug

View Deal